Policy Briefs

Monitoring Sustainable Development Goal 14 on the ocean

This policy brief explains the role of Sustainable Development Goal 14 on the Ocean and points to the related major initiatives of the United Nations through a short interview with Vladimir Ryabinin, Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission. It sets out the relevance of indicators for monitoring the SDG 14 agenda, illustrates progress in this area globally and nationally in France and South Africa, goes over certain coordination challenges and highlights future areas of research.

Laura Recuero VirtoResearch coordinator Ocean University Initiative, University of Brest (UBO) ; i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Anne-France DidierSpecial Adviser for Regional and Local Governance, Coordinator for SDG14, French Ministry for the Ecological and Inclusive Transition
Kumi KitamoriHead of Division Green Growth & Global Relations, Environment Directorate, OECD

Issue date: November 2018

ISSN: 2647-2201

Questions about Marine Protected Areas (MPAs)

The problem of MPAs is not the lack of knowledge about the marine environment, but managing of people, that is, managing the different uses in these areas. Thus, it is much easier to identify MPAs than to manage them effectively, not only in waters under national jurisdiction, but even more so in areas beyond national jurisdiction. Another problem is not enough collegial and transparent scientific committees to ensure good scientific governance of MPAs.

Laura Recuero VirtoResearch coordinator Ocean University Initiative, University of Brest (UBO) ; i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Modou ThiawCoordinator, Fisheries Ecology Laboratory in West Africa (LEH-AO) (ISRA/CRODT and Universities of UCAD, UGB, UASZ), Dakar-Thiaroye Oceanographic Research Center (ISRA/CRODT)

Issue date: November 2018

ISSN: 2647-2201

Underwater noise

There are increasing concerns about the impact of underwater noise on marine life spurred by the steady rise in the number and variety of human activities at sea. In particular, chronic noise levels from commercial shipping have increased significantly in the past 60 years and they are set to continue to rise in the coming years. In response to this concern, the United Nations has signed a voluntary commitment to reduce underwater noise (#OceanAction18553), which recognizes the negative impact that shipping noise can have on marine life. In this policy brief, we examine the role of ports in reducing this type of noise and illustrate our findings through a case study of the port of Le Havre.

Laura Recuero VirtoResearch coordinator Ocean University Initiative University of Brest (UBO) i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Hervé DumezDirector The Interdisciplinary Institute for Innovation i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Pascal GalichonDirector in charge of sustainable development and pilotage Grand Port Maritime du Havre (Le Havre port authority)
Florent Le CourtoisUnderwater noise pollution expert SHOM (French Naval Hydrographic and Oceanographic Department)
Manuel MuntoniProgram manager - Ecological Restoration Frame of Reference for the Seine Estuary Groupement d’Intérêt Publique Seine-Aval (GIP Seine-Aval)

Issue date: August  2020

ISSN printed version 2677-6847
ISSN digital version 2677-934X

See this page in: Français

Policy Briefs

Suivi de l’Objectif de Développement Durable 14 sur l’océan

Ce policy brief explique le rôle de l’Objectif de Développement Durable 14 sur l’océan et met l’accent sur les principales initiatives de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) à travers un bref entretien avec Vladimir Ryabinin, Secrétaire Exécutif de la Commission Océanographique Intergouvernementale (COI) de l’UNESCO. Ce document expose la pertinence des indicateurs pour le suivi de l’agenda de l’ODD 14, illustre les progrès dans ce domaine au niveau mondial, en France et en Afrique du Sud, passe en revue certains défis de coordination et met en lumière les futurs domaines de recherche.

Laura Recuero VirtoCoordinatrice Recherche
Ocean University Iniatitive
Université de Bretagne Occidentale (UBO)
i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Anne-France DidierConseillère politiques territoriales
Pilote ODD14
Ministère de la Transition Écologique et Solidaire
Kumi KitamoriChef de division
Croissance verte et relations mondiales
Direction de l’environnement
OCDE

Date de publication : Novembre 2018

ISSN : 2647-2201

Questions sur les aires marines protégées (AMP)

Les AMP pâtissent du manque de gestion des hommes et des usages dans ces zones mais pas celui de connaissances sur le milieu marin. Il est beaucoup plus facile d’identifier les AMP que de les gérer efficacement, non seulement dans les eaux relevant de la juridiction nationale, mais encore plus dans les zones situées au-delà de cette dernière. L’insuffisance de comités scientifiques collégiaux et transparents rend difficile la bonne gouvernance scientifique des AMP.

Laura Recuero VirtoCoordinatrice Recherche
Ocean University Iniatitive
Université de Bretagne Occidentale (UBO)
i3-CRG, Ecole Polytechnique
Modou ThiawCoordinateur, Laboratoire d’Écologie Halieutique en Afrique de l’Ouest (LEH-AO) (ISRA/CRODT et Universités UCAD, UGB, UASZ)
Centre de Recherches Océanographiques de Dakar-Thiaroye/Institut Sénégalais de Recherches Agricoles (CRODT/ISRA)

Date de publication : Novembre 2018

ISSN : 2647-2201

Bruit sous-marin

L’impact du bruit sous-marin sur la vie marine suscite de plus en plus d’inquiétudes, en raison de l’augmentation constante du nombre et de la diversité des activités humaines en mer. En particulier, les niveaux de bruit chroniques provenant de la navigation commerciale ont augmenté de manière significative au cours des 60 dernières années et ils devraient continuer à augmenter dans les années à venir. En réponse à cette préoccupation, les Nations Unies ont signé un engagement volontaire pour réduire le bruit sous-marin (#OceanAction18553), qui reconnaît l’impact négatif que le bruit de la navigation peut avoir sur la vie marine. Dans ce policy brie, nous examinons le rôle des ports dans la réduction de ce type de bruit et illustrons nos résultats à l’aide du cas d’étude du port du Havre.

Laura Recuero VirtoCoordinatrice de recherche Ocean University Initiative i3-CRG, École Polytechnique
Hervé DumezDirecteur Institut interdisciplinaire de l’innovation i3-CRG, École Polytechnique
Pascal GalichonDirecteur en charge du développement durable et du pilotage Grand port maritime du Havre
Florent Le CourtoisExpert en pollution sonore sous-marine SHOM (Service hydrographique et océanographique de la Marine)
Manuel MuntoniChargé de mission référentiel priorités de restauration écologique de l’estuaire de la Seine. Groupement d’intérêt publique Seine-Aval (GIP Seine-Aval)

Date de publication : Août  2020

ISSN version papier 2677-6847
ISSN version numérique 2677-934X

See this page in: English